skip navigation
AZ.gov Arizona's Official Website Arizona Commission for Postsecondary Education
Agency Name AZ.gov Arizona's Official Web Site
 
...expanding access and increasing success in postsecondary education for Arizonans 
 

AZ Private Postsecondary Education Student Assistance Program (PFAP)

 

This program has been placed on SUSPENSION for the 2012-2013 academic year and applications will not be accepted.

Description:


The Arizona Private Postsecondary Education Student Financial Assistance Program (PFAP) is a student-centered, need-based grant (forgivable loan) designed to financially support and to encourage Arizona community college graduates to attend a private postsecondary baccalaureate degree granting institution in Arizona.  The maximum grant is $2,000 per year for up to two years and funds must be applied toward tuition, books and fees.  The funds must be repaid to the PFAP Grant fund if the student fails to achieve a bachelor’s degree in three years. 

 

 

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Must be a resident of Arizona for at least the previous 12 months at the time of application completion
  • Must be a U.S. Citizen or an eligible noncitizen
  • Must be a graduate of an Arizona Public Community College or from a community college under the jurisdiction of an Indian tribe in Arizona, with an associate's degree
  • Must attend a private baccalaureate degree-granting institution in Arizona
  • Must be enrolled full-time 
  • Must demonstrate financial need as determined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) 
  • Must maintain satisfactory academic progress as determined by the institution

Program Details:

  • Students may meet the minimum qualifications for both the Postsecondary Education Grant (PEG) and PFAP Grant programs, however students may only benefit from one program.  Per Arizona Statute, students who are eligible for PFAP must utilize PFAP funds prior to PEG funds. 
  • Students must complete their baccalaureate degree within three years from the date of the initial disbursement.  Should a student not complete their bachelor degree within the three year time frame the student must repay all funds back to the PFAP Grant fund.  Students must complete a promissory note each year during the application process. 
  • Students enter into repayment if the student is not enrolled full-time for more than twelve consecutive months.
  • Students must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) each academic year.  The Commission will automatically receive a copy of the FAFSA once it is processed by the US Department of Education.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suspended for 2012-13

 

 

 

 

 

PFAP Legislation